The Route

Hillary’s Ride will take the riders from Victoria, British Columbia, to St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, on their mission to raise awareness of mental health issues amongst youth. Travelling 6,722 km over 67 days, the riders are going to visit some of Canada’s most renowned towns, villages and cities, as well as witness the beauty of the different geographic regions: the western mountains, the central plains, the eastern shield and the coastal tides.

Here is our finalised route. There may be some minor changes as the riders see fit (depending on weather, etc.):

BDay01-1BDay01-2 Wed 8 May – Victoria to Aldergrove, BC (95.7km)
BDay02 Thu 9 May – Aldergrove to Hope, BC (102km)
BDay03 Fri 10 May – Hope to Princeton, BC (141km)
BDay04 Sat 11 May – Princeton to Cawston (shuttle to Kelowna concert, Shuttle to Oliver for accom), BC (70.3km)
BDay05 Sun 12 May – Cawston (shuttle from Oliver) to Midway, BC (111km)
BDay06 Mon 13 May – Midway to Castlegar, BC (145km)
BDay07-Rationale Tue 14 May – Castlegar to Creston, BC (161km)
BDay08 Wed 15 May – Creston to Cranbrook, BC (108km)
Thu 16 May – Day off in Cranbrook, BC (0km)
BDay10 Fri 17 May – Cranbrook to Sparwood (shuttle to Fernie), BC (125km)
BDay11 Sat 18 May – Sparwood (shuttle from Fernie) to Fort MacLeod (shuttle to Lethbridge), AB (131km)
BDay12 Sun 19 May – Fort MacLeod (shuttle from Lethbridge) to Taber (shuttle to Lethbridge), AB (99.8km)
BDay13 Mon 20 May – Taber (shuttle from Lethbridge) to Medicine Hat, AB (123km)
BDay14 Tue 21 May – Medicine Hat to Maple Creek, SK (103km)
BDay15 Wed 22 May – Maple Creek to Swift Current, SK (140km)
BDay16  Thu 23 May – Swift Current to Moose Jaw, SK (169km)
BDay17 Fri 24 May – Moose Jaw to Regina, SK (77.2km)
BDay18-Yorkton Sat 25 May – Saskatchewan/Manitoba border to North West of Yorkton (131km) (changed from Regina to Broadview (Shuttle to Yorkton), SK (144km) due to inclement weather)
Sun 26 May – Day off in Yorkton, SK (0km)
BDay20-Yorkton-Russell Mon 27 May – Yorkton to Russell, MB (103km) (changed from Broadview (shuttle from Yorkton) to Elkhorn (shuttle to Virden), MB (110km))
BDay21-Biscarth-Minnedosa Tue 28 May – Binscarth to Minnedosa, MB (117km) (changed from (Elkhorn (shuttle from Virden) to Brandon, MB (104km))
BDay22-Minnedosa-Portage Wed 29 May – Minnedosa to Portage La Prairie, MB (141km) (changed from Brandon to Portage La Prairie, MB (137km))
BDay23-Portage-Winnipeg Thu 30 May – Portage La Prairie to Winnipeg, MB (77km)
Fri 31 May – Day off in Winnipeg, MB (0km)
BDay25-Winnipeg-Prawda Sat 1 June – Winnipeg to Prawda, MB (123km)
BDay26-Prawda-Kenora Sun 2 June – Prawda to Kenora, ON (105km)
BDay27-Kenora-Dryden Mon 3 June – Kenora to Dryden, ON (138km)
BDay28-Dryden-Ignace Tue 4 June – Dryden to Ignace, ON (117km)
BDay29-Ignace-Upsala Wed 5 June – Ignace to UPSALA, ON (108km)
BDay30-Upsala-ThunderBay Thu 6 June – UPSALA to Thunder Bay, ON (136km)
Fri 7 June – Day off in Thunder Bay, ON (0km)
BDay32-ThunderBay-Nipigon Sat 8 June – Thunder Bay to Nipigon, ON (98.2km)
BDay33-Nipigon-TerraceBay+ Sun 9 June – Nipigon to Terrace Bay + 30km, ON (138km)
BDay34-TerraceBay+-WhiteRiver Mon 10 June – Terrace Bay + 30km to White River, ON (133km)
BDay35-WhiteRiver-Wawa Tue 11 June – White River to Wawa, ON (88.1km)
BDay36-Wawa-MontrealRiverHarbour Wed 12 June – Wawa to Montreal River Harbour, ON (107km)
BDay37-MontrealRiverHarbour-SaultSteMarie Thu 13 June – Montreal River Harbour to Sault Ste. Marie, ON (111km)
Fri 14 June – Day off in Sault Ste. Marie, ON (0km)
BDay39-SaultSteMarie-AlgomaMills Sat 15 June – Sault Ste. Marie to Algoma Mils, ON (158km)
BDay40-AlgomaMills-LittleCurrent Sun 16 June – Algoma Mills to Little Current, ON (142km)
BDay41-LittleCurrent-Tobermory Mon 17 June – Little Current to Tobermory, ON (61.9km)
BDay42-Tobermory-OwenSound Tue 18 June – Tobermory to Owen Sound, ON (105km)
BDay43-OwenSound-Orillia Wed 19 June – Owen Sound to Orillia, ON (140km)
BDay44-Orillia-Peterborough Thu 20 June – Orillia to Peterborough, ON (133km)
BDay45-Peterborough-Madoc Fri 21 June – Peterborough to Madoc (shuttle to/from Deseronto concert), ON (71.7km)
BDay46-Madoc-Perth Sat 22 June – Madoc to Perth (concert McDonald’s Corners), ON (115km)
BDay47-Perth-Ottawa Sun 23 June – Perth to Ottawa, ON (85km)
Mon 24 June – Day off in Ottawa, ON (0km)
BDay49-Ottawa-Hawkesbury Tue 25 June – Ottawa to Hawkesbury (shuttle back to Ottawa), ON (97km)
BDay50-Hawkesbury-Joliette Wed 26 June – Hawkesbury (shuttle from Ottawa) to Joliette, QC (122km)
BDay51-Joliette-TroisRivieres Thu 27 June – Joliette to Trois-Rivières, QC (94km)
BDay52-TroisRivieres-Levis Fri 28 June – Trois-Rivières to Levis, QC (158km)
BDay53-Levis-LaPocatiere Sat 29 June – Levis to La Pocatière, QC (107km)
BDay54-LaPocatiere-NotreDameDuLac Sun 30 June – La Pocatière to Notre-Dame-du-Lac, QC (124km)
BDay55-NotreDameDuLac-PerthAndover Mon 1 July – Notre-Dame-du-Lac to Perth-Andover, NB (159km)
BDay56-PerthAndover-DurhamBridge Tue 2 July – Perth-Andover to Durham Bridge (Fredericton), NB (149km)
Wed 3 July – Day off in Durham Bridge, NB (0km)
Thu 4 July – Durham Bridge to Sussex, NB (135km)
Fri 5 July – Sussex to Sackville (Shuttle to Dieppe), NB (132km)
Sat 6 July – Sackville to Charlottetown, PE (116km)
Sun 7 July – Charlottetown to Westville + (shuttle to Dartmouth), NS (120.9km)
Mon 8 July – Day off in Dartmouth / Halifax, NS (0km)
Tue 9 July – Westville + (shuttled from Dartmouth) to Port Hastings, NS (127km)
Wed 10 July – Port Hastings to Sydney Mines (ferry to Argentia), NS (86km)
Thu 11 July – Argentia to Conception Bay (shuttle to hotel near St. John’s), NL (106km)
Fri 12 July – Conception Bay (shuttle from St. John’s) to St. John’s/Mount Pearl, NL (18.6km)
Sat 13 July – St. John’s/Mount Pearl to Cape Spear, St. John’s, NL (21km)

2 thoughts on “The Route

  1. I enjoyed your concert very much last night at Expressionz Cafe. I know people on your route. (Sparwood, Sask and Ottawa). How can I get those people to support you? How will you be interacting with local communities on your tour? (I work at MacEwan). Do you have contacts in the Social Work program there?

    Diane

    • HI Diane. I apologize for not having responded to your posting. I’m still getting used to having to interact with the website. Thank you for attending the Expressionz Cafe concert. The route is being built to accommodate about 13 concerts along the way. We have volunteers web searching for grass roots charities in those areas who are dedicated to mental health and suicide prevention to invite them to these events and assist us in getting the word out. Please share our web site with your friends along the route. Ottawa is certainly a location where we hope to have a concert. I am getting better at responding to these messages, I actually thought that I had responded to you until I checked tonight. They can email directly at info@hillaryride.ca. We do not have contacted in the MacEwan Social Work program. Margaret Milner is from the MacEwan Nursing program and has become a friend of the ride. The MacEwan University Nursing Honour Society recently put on an event with Paula Symons from the Journal and we were invited to attend and collected donations. Well, Diane, I hope I have answered all of your questions. If you wish to stay in touch with the ride, enter your email on the main web page and you will receive notifications of updates, blogs, etc. Thank you,

Leave a Reply to Bill Werthmann Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *